Home / BlackBerry / Goa election results: All you need to know

Goa election results: All you need to know


INC 17
BJP 13
It’s a hung assembly in Goa. Congress and BJP need the support of MGP and Goa Forward Party to form government in the state. BJP has 13 seats and Congress is just one short of winning majority with 17 seats.

*Hung assembly in Goa; Congress, BJP in race for next government

The Congress emerged as the single largest party in Goa, relegating the BJP to the second position in Assembly polls which threw up a hung house .

The Congress won 17 seats in the 40-member house, while the BJP bagged 13. The Maharashtrawadi Gomantak Party (MGP), the Goa Forward Party (GFP) and the independents won three seats each, while the NCP bagged one.

*BJP also in race to form govt in Goa: Parrikar

Defence Minister Manohar Parrikar today said the party is in the “best position” to form the government and it could do so by roping in smaller parties. “In the situation of a fractured mandate, everyone is in the run to form the government. We are also there. If BJP acts like a core group and brings together smaller parties, we can still give a stable government,” Parrikar said.

* Goa sees maximum voters going for NOTA

Goa has come up on top when it comes to voters hitting the NOTA button+ . In Goa, 1.2 per cent of the voters chose NOTA (None of the Above), latest data available with the Election Commission of India showed.

About satyamevjayates.com

Satyamevjayates.com is a smart, intelligent, quirky, witty content portal that targets a young audience. Our stories will inform, educate and entertain the audience across a number of domains. Satyamevjayates.com team aims to track the planet and bring the “you must know about” movies, music, politics, fashion, style, entertainment, sports, and fitness and tech stories straight to you.


Get the Facebook Likebox Slider Pro for WordPress