Home / BlackBerry / Uttarakhand elections results: All you need to know

Uttarakhand elections results: All you need to know


BJP 57
INC 11
The BJP built from strength to strength as the results continued to come in through the day. As counting progressed, a bitter battle with the Congress became a roaring landslide. The contest was expected to be close, but the BJP scored 57 seats in the 70-member Assembly to the Congress’s 11.
After BJP’s thumping victory in Uttarakhand, speculation was rife about the choice for the chief ministerial candidate+ with the choice narrowing down to two senior leaders — Satpal Maharaj and Trivendra Singh Rawat, as per sources.

With Satpal Maharaj winning from Chaubattakhal by a margin of 7,354 votes and Trivendra Singh Rawat securing the Doiwala seat by 24,869 ballots, both the leaders were being seen as strong probables.

* I accept and take responsibility for Congress’s defeat in Uttarakhand, there must have been few lapses in our leadership: Harish Rawat

* Amit Shah, BJP chief, addresses a press conference.”On behalf of BJP, I would like to congratulate and thank people of UP, Uttarakhand, Manipur, Punjab and Goa for coming our in big numbers to vote.We have received historic mandate in UP and Uttarakkhand, and will also form governments in Manipur and Goa.”

About satyamevjayates.com

Satyamevjayates.com is a smart, intelligent, quirky, witty content portal that targets a young audience. Our stories will inform, educate and entertain the audience across a number of domains. Satyamevjayates.com team aims to track the planet and bring the “you must know about” movies, music, politics, fashion, style, entertainment, sports, and fitness and tech stories straight to you.


Get the Facebook Likebox Slider Pro for WordPress